Comfort Food

This term took on a whole new meaning to me yesterday. I’ve never craved home made mac n cheese or chicken noodle soup when I needed comfort – it was always a bowl of rice and miso soup.  Yesterday, however, I needed the mac n cheese. The past few weeks have been emotionally exhausting, and I really just needed my food to give me a big hug. I made the Sriracha cookbook‘s version of mac n cheese – with a touch of rosemary added in. The food comforted me beyond belief and I woke up rejuvenated today, ready to take on whatever life had coming my way. To offset the intense cheese and dairy, I made a cucumber and tuna salad that I’ve been making since I was a kid.  Simple, light, and delicious – a perfect balance to the heavy creaminess of the mac n cheese. Needless to say, the combination was fantastic and the food did exactly what I needed it to – take care of me 🙂

Tuna & Cucumber Salad:

2 persian cucumbers (or one medium sized japanese cucumber)

a can of japanese tuna (or tuna in oil, not water)

a dash of soy sauce

a dash of sesame oil

salt & pepper to taste

just toss all ingredients together and serve immediately.

Enjoy!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About leemodesigns

I have been folding Origami for over 20 years - being raised in both Japan and Hawai'i has shaped and formed who I am today. Origami has been a kind of relaxation for me my entire life, and only recently did I discover that I enjoyed wearing my work rather than simply displaying it! Although folding paper is how I originally started LeeMo, my personal exploration of digital fabrication has expanded the way that I approach modular origami. Folding will always be a passion for me, but I never want to forget how it all started: a little girl and a package of paper.

Leave a Reply

