Kyoto Aquarium

I am SO far behind on keeping you guys in the loop for what I’ve been up to here in Japan. So bad, in fact, that today’s post is about a trip I took in October. I say it every time, but I really really want to write more regularly this year ^.^

The aquarium was pretty cool, for being in the middle of the city. It wasn’t my favorite aquarium by any means – the top of my list is still the Kaiyukan in Osakako (near where I live).

It was pretty small, but there were lots of fun aquatic creatures and the architecture of the whole place was pretty cool.  They’re known for having a dolphin show, which unfortunately I didn’t make it to so I can’t tell you about that…..

Here are a couple snapshots (all from my iPhone 4S) that I took while I was there:

IMG_5098

some super super chipper looking toads

IMG_5186

jellyfish!

IMG_5196

seahorses

IMG_5208

coolest looking jellyfish ever

IMG_5209

my morning face

IMG_5215

tree frog – who knew this is what they looked like underneath!

IMG_5216

turtle melon bread – a special design specifically for the kyoto aquarium. super adorable but not the best I’ve ever had 😉

IMG_5222

side view of the main tank

IMG_5225

sea urchin eye… I didn’t even know they had eyes!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About leemodesigns

I have been folding Origami for over 20 years - being raised in both Japan and Hawai'i has shaped and formed who I am today. Origami has been a kind of relaxation for me my entire life, and only recently did I discover that I enjoyed wearing my work rather than simply displaying it! Although folding paper is how I originally started LeeMo, my personal exploration of digital fabrication has expanded the way that I approach modular origami. Folding will always be a passion for me, but I never want to forget how it all started: a little girl and a package of paper.

2 responses to “Kyoto Aquarium”

  1. Ann says :

    Gorgeous! Phone pics have come a longgg way. Happy New Year, Leela!

    • leemodesigns says :

      Same to you, Ann! I’m starting to think I really only need my iPhone and my SLR and can get rid of my point and shoot… it’s crazy how good phone camera’s have gotten!

Leave a Reply

